Wednesday, February 8, 2012

Reprotect and SRM with VR

*************************************************************************
******    Updated information - May 28, 2015                                          *****
******     I know I'm later for this update, either way here it goes            
*****
******     Reprotect for VR workloads has been introduced on SRM 5.1  ***** *************************************************************************
 
As my last post this one is also about SRM and the Reprotect process when using vSphere Replication (VR) as your replication method.

If you red the SRM Admin Guide carefully you will notice that Reprotect is not supported when using VR.

on their's own words:
NOTE Reprotect is supported only for array-based replication. vSphere Replication (VR) reprotect is not supported. If a recovery plan contains VR groups, remove those groups before you execute a reprotect

So, After you run a Migration (Planned or Not) you see that Reprotect icon is available.




So in what world you would not be tempted to do not try that on ?!?!?

If you are like me you will press that just to see what happens.
Well, reprotect would not start and the message you will get is:
“Reprotect is not supported for VR protection groups. You must edit the plan to remove all VR protection groups before running reprotect.”



So you might be wondered how to Failback your VMs to the original site.

In fact you need to configure everything back in the reverse order.

Here’s some main steps that can guide you on your environment.

- remove the VM from the inventory at the Protected Site (just removing it from the inventory instead of deleting it will speed up the first synchronization because the VMDK will be already there and just the changes will be replicated).
- remove the original Protection Group or remove the VM from it.
- If you want to keep the Original Recovery Plan historical information keep it, otherwise it’s safe to delete it.
- configure replication from the Recovery site to the Protected site.
- create a new protection group with the VM from the Recovery Site
- create a new recovery plan
Now you are ready, it’s just to run a migration again and your VM will be back to the original site.

Make sure to test it exhaustively until you are safe with the process and be prepared to any incident.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Who am I

My photo
I’m an IT specialist with over 15 years of experience, working from IT infrastructure to management products, troubleshooting and project management skills from medium to large environments. Nowadays I'm working for VMware as a Consulting Architect, helping customers to embrace the Cloud Era and make them successfully on their journey. Despite the fact I'm a VMware employee these postings reflect my own opinion and do not represents VMware's position, strategies or opinions. Reach me at @dumeirell

Most Viewed Posts

Blog Archive